“Every appetite, desire, propensity, and impulse of the natural man may be overcome by and through the Atonement of Jesus Christ.”

David A. Bednar,”We Believe in Being Chaste,” Ensign, May 2012,43

A couple of years ago, I invited a friend, who was not a member of my faith, to attend an Addiction Recover Program (ARP) meeting that was sponsored by my church. I attended the meetings with her to help her feel more comfortable. Even though we only attended three or four meetings, both of us had a positive experience.

A couple months later, as I struggled with some of the challenges in my life, I felt like God told me to attend the ARP meetings again. I didn’t understand why. I told myself, “I can’t go to those meetings, I don’t have an addiction.” I laugh at that memory now.

Everyone is addicted to sin. Anytime we have trouble overcoming a bad habit, or as Elder Bednar described an “impulse of the natural man,” it is an addiction. The ARP program teaches how Jesus Christ can help us overcome our weaknesses and short comings. Thanks to the ARP program, I am closer to the Savior than I have ever been and I have made significant progress in overcoming my bad habits.

