We should not underestimate or overlook the power of the Lord’s tender mercies. The simpleness, the sweetness, and the constancy of the tender mercies of the Lord will do much to fortify and protect us in the troubled times in which we do now and will yet live. When words cannot provide the solace we need or express the joy we feel, when it is simply futile to attempt to explain that which is unexplainable, when logic and reason cannot yield adequate understanding about the injustices and inequities of life, when mortal experience and evaluation are insufficient to produce a desired outcome, and when it seems that perhaps we are so totally alone, truly we are blessed by the tender mercies of the Lord and made mighty even unto the power of deliverance (1 Nephi 1:20). . . I testify that the tender mercies of the Lord are available to all of us and that the Redeemer of Israel is eager to bestow such gifts upon us.

David A. Bednar, Ensign, May 2005, 100-101

I read this quote this morning and it brought great comfort to me. The quote almost exactly described my feelings. A friend of mine is going through Job-like trials, and it seems to me that she always has from the time she was very young. I know that our lives are watched over by a loving Heavenly Father, but at times I get discouraged by the “injustices and inequities of life,” especially when I see them happening to someone I care about.

This quote helped me realize that the way to overcome such discouragement is to focus on the blessings we received. Elder Bednar doesn’t promise us that God will make everything fair in this life, but he does promise us that, if we look, we will find evidence of God’s love for us. By focusing on our blessings, we will be “made mighty even unto the power of deliverance.” I think that phrase means we will have the strength to not become victims of the negative things that happen in our lives.

This friend told me about just such a tender mercy. She has recently decided to get baptized in the LDS church and had the desire to contact the missionary who first taught her a year ago. Unfortunately, she could not remember his name, and had no idea where he was. This weekend she went to a church meeting in another city. After the meeting, the missionary she had been looking for sat down beside her.

Now, this wasn’t the miracle that we were hoping for, but it was a miracle nonetheless. If you understand how frequently our missionaries move and take into account that the mission split two months ago, you would have to admit that God intentionally placed that man at the meeting just to bless the life of my friend. She said his presence helped her to remember just how much God did love her.

My friend told me about this experience yesterday, and yet last night, I still allowed myself to become discouraged. Elder Bednar’s quote helped me to remember that I need to focus more on the miracles I do see instead of the ones that I don’t.

