Child Praying

If all the sick for whom we pray were healed, if all the righteous were protected and the wicked destroyed, the whole program of the Father would be annulled . . .No man would have to live by faith. . . There would be little or no suffering, sorrow, disappointment, or even death, and if these were not, there would also be no joy, success, resurrection, nor eternal life.
Spencer W. Kimball, As quoted by Malcolm S. Jeppsen, Ensign, May 1994, 17

I’ll admit that I do not understand why there has to be opposition in all things, why we would not know joy without suffering. I’d like to think that my love for God is strong enough that I would depend on Him even if I was trial free, but I’ve never been without some kind of affliction. I do understand that with our physical bodies, without resistance, or something to push against, our muscles and bones cannot become stronger. I guess our spirits work the same way.

I do not understand why faith is more powerful than knowledge. I’d like to think I would obey even if I knew. I do understand that God does not make Himself known to mankind as a whole to protect those that would not obey even when they had a sure knowledge.

Even though I don’t understand completely why God does the things He does, I trust Him. I trust that His “program” is one that is carefully designed and overseen. Even though my life has not been easy, and my prayers have not always been answered in the way that I want them to, I know God loves me.

