pict0025_edited-1

Wives, be faithful to your husbands. I know you have to put up with many unpleasant things, and your husbands have to put up with some things as well. Doubtless you are sometimes tried by your husbands, on account perhaps of the ignorance of your husbands, or perchance at times because of your own ignorance. … I do not say but that your husbands are bad—just as bad as you are, and probably some of them are worse; but, never mind: try to endure the unpleasantnesses which arise at times, and when you meet each other in the next life you will feel glad that you put up with those things.
Lorenzo Snow

I love this quote. I think it is one of the most realistic, down to earth pieces of advice about marriage that I have ever heard. I know I’m not always capable of responding in a Christ-like manner, but I think I can handle putting up with “unpleasantnesses.” I like that a prophet of God admits that marriage isn’t always easy because of our human imperfections. I think he was wise to point out that, in healthy marriages, both the husband and the wife need to take an equal share of blame.

The last line makes me smile. Thinking about meeting up with my husband in the next life helps me put this life’s inconveniences into perspective, and I look forward to a time when things like dirty socks on the bedroom floor won’t be an issue.

http://www.lds.org/manual/teachings-of-presidents-of-the-church-lorenzo-snow/chapter-9-sacred-family-relationships?lang=eng

